Yu-Gi-Oh! Animeverse

Pyro

Elite
Staff member
Admin
I've always wondered about the YGO's universe and how radically different it is from ours in terms of the game. Obviously some of the general rules are different (such as summoning monsters in face-up defense mode), but the game overall plays almost as if it's a different game. I'm not good at explaining anything, so I'll try to jot down some points and maybe, hopefully, you guys will somewhat understand what I'm trying to say.

• There are only three Blue-Eyes White Dragon cards on the entire planet, and one person (Kaiba) owns all three.
  • On that note, it doesn't seem like some cards get reprinted at all. Case in point: Blue-Eyes White Dragon, the Egyptian God Cards.
  • There are so many overpowered cards yet we don't see them everywhere like in real life. There are obviously more copies of cards like Crush Card Virus (we see a copy in the Orichalcos arc), but Kaiba is the only person we ever see use it, despite how incredibly broken it is. The same goes for cards like Harpie's Feather Duster (though that obviously fits Mai's "theme" better, so it's more understandable nobody else would use it often), Mirror Force, Soul Exchange, etc.
  • Card destruction is rare. I can only remember Yugi using Mystical Space Typhoon and Dust Tornado about once each through 100+ episodes. Do you know how many times characters could have ended duels if they'd simply MST'd their opponent's "impossible to beat" back row card? Probably 80%+ of the duels. This also goes for things like Dark Hole or Raigeki.
  • There is no "net decking," meaning everybody seems to have their own style and theme. You don't see 500 kids at a tournament with a copy of Yugi's deck just because he won Duelist Kingdom and Battle City. In that regard, it appears duelists in general are happier and more accepting than what we've got.